Any strategies to become more powerful?

I absolutely have no idea how to progress and become stronger. Do I have to upgrade everything I have to their max level, or should I use a particular set of items? (Sorry, I’m a noob)

upgrade items is not the answer if you only do on weak items…

try making one continued damage mech, mean get items of the same type and have 2 attacks per range:

this is my lovely bunny 2.0, as you can see is not necesary has the 6 weapons on.
strategy is like a push-controler.

• stomp x2
  • Pull and knock for 2-6 range ( 2 attacks on 2-5 always)
  • the legs make you dont need grap or charge, so one teleport is more than enough.

this works for me because i have practice with, making pvp and farming on campaing, so you need pick which typie of mech you want, make one startegy with and practice.

dont fall in this mistakes:

1. have 6 weapons of diferent type (pys heat and energy) to have options and diferent damage.
    this only make your mech weak vs all.
  2. get uses on items to make heat.
    this only works on high heat like 50 or 65 flamethrower legendary and miths.
  3. hybrids…
    if you dont know how use one single type of mech, what make you think than work with 2 types is more easy than one?
  4. make your own mech with your own strategy and dont copy mech from others.
    this is helpfull, because if you copy the mech of someone else, you will die loot of times, because you dont know how use it, how avoid the enemy or how attack. so make your own mech let you know every weapon and his potential.

go on the ladder rankings and look at the replays of top players. Selecting the right builds and item combos, coupled with solid strategy will make more of a difference currently than upgrading your items to max - at least until you reached the Top 10.